MMCRU's Letsche Named IGCA 'Coach Of Year,' Royals' Harpenau, Hillbrands And Cherokee's Nichols Named To All-District Teams

19 Feb

Postseason honors are beginning to being dishedout and the Iowa Girls Coaches Association got the early release of its All-District Teams and Coaches Of The Year for Class 1A through 5A.

MMCRU sophomore teammates Taylor Harpenau and Ellie Hilbrands were selectd as members of the Northwest District for Class 1A, and their coach Gillian Letsche was selected as Class 1A Northwest District Coach Of The Year. The Royals completed an undefeated regular season and won the War Eagle Conference title outright.

Selected to the Class 3A Northwest District team was Cherokee junior JeMae Nichols. The Braves remain alive in the postseason and will be hosting a Class 3A semifinal tonight against MOC/Floyd Valley.

See entire All-District lists for all classes see link: 


Jayde Barto5-8SeniorKingsley-Pierson
Chloe Colt  5-4SophomoreAkron-Westfield
Jaeden Ferris5-8Freshman  Westwood
McKenzie Goodwin  5-10SophomoreKingsley-Pierson
Taylor Harpenau  5-7SophomoreMMCRU
Ellie Hillbrands  5-11SophomoreMMCRU
Madison Hough5-5SeniorGraettinger-Terril/Ruthven-Ayrshire
Natalie Nielson  6-3SophomoreAkron-Westfield
Maddie Paulsen  5-10SeniorWoodbury Central
Macy Sievers5-8JuniorNewell-Fonda
Maggie Walker5-8JuniorNewell-Fonda
Addison Weber5-5SeniorLeMars Gehlen

1A Northwest DIstrict Coach Of The Year: Gillian Letsche, MMCRU


Magan Christopherson5-7SeniorOkoboji
Jazlin DeHaan5-11JuniorMOC/Floyd Valley
Abbey Holmes5-8SeniorAlgona
Brooklyn Meyer6-2SophomoreWest Lyon
JaMae Nichols5-9JuniorCherokee
Jayden Nitchals5-10SophomoreEstherville-Lincoln Central
Janie Schoonhoven5-10JuniorUnity Christian
Ella Skinner6-0SeniorSioux City Heelan
Katelyn Stanley5-10SeniorSioux CIty Heelan
Kallyn Stumbo5-9SeniorOkoboji

3A Northwest District Coach Of The Year: John Adam, Okoboji

* The email will not be published on the website.